More Than A Number blog











{March 8, 2009}   Why?

I’m reading Portia Iversen’s book “Strange Son” which is about her experiences with her Autistic son, another mother, and the other mother’s son. The question she persists in asking throughout the book is “Why?”.
Why do Autistics flap their hands and “stim”?
Why does my child have Autism?

I’m not on the same spot of the spectrum as her son Dov, or the other Autistic named Tito. However, I used to do a lot of strange hand motions, like I would walk around like an airplane with my arms out. When I was grade school aged, I loved to chew on the Barbie shoes. Not really “neurotypical” behavior. (those are just two examples) The why? I suppose it calmed me in a world with so much input. I have noticed cutting soda out of my diet has decreased the stimming behaviors.

The next “Why?”…why her son? I, of course, do not know why her son was chosen to be Autistic. I believe God has some reason for making me the way I am. Maybe He made me this way so I could try to help other people understand Autism. I can find peace in that I trust Him to be looking out for me. He doesn’t hate me, everything that has happened in my life has happened for a purpose; even if I don’t know those purposes.

Romans 5:3-
“We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. 4And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. 5And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his alove.”

A great post. I like the way you have chosen to look at your life and the popose of it. My son is has Aspergers and the only thing that I ask why I have such a great and wonderful child. Fill free to visit my blog A boy with Aspergers http://aspergersinfo.wordpress.com anytime.
Great blog!
Claire Louise.x



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

