More Than A Number blog











{February 20, 2009}   I love freecycle!

What Freecycle is:

“The Freecycle Network™ is made up of 4,682 groups with 6,459,000 members across the globe. It’s a grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (& getting) stuff for free in their own towns. It’s all about reuse and keeping good stuff out of landfills. Each local group is moderated by a local volunteer (them’s good people). Membership is free. “

I signed up for the local Freecycle a few months ago and have watched the offers. Lots of kids’ clothing and items, but a spattering of other items. I also enjoyed discussions with others of the local Freecycle and learned fascinating things about my home city of 20 years! Great people, great info. Well I was elated to get a large hamster cage! My hamster Hammie is my baby and means the world to me. This cage is huge, it’s a large wire cage on top of a 10 galloon glass tank. It came with a wheel and some nice play structures. It took some cleaning but you can’t beat the price: FREE! Hammie is very pleased with her new ‘palace’. And THAT is why I love Freecycle!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
